Blog Azeroth

A forum for World of Warcraft Bloggers
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 2:24 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Need Help With Screenshots
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Cenarion Circle
Alright, folks. I've posed this question on my blog looking for an assist. I've asked in-game more times than I care to count. Everyone has great responses. Sadly, not a single one works for me.

How the H-E-Double Hockey Stick do I take in-game screenshots? I've been told pressing Print Screen will actually save a .jpg file in some random WoW folder. I'm calling shenanigans as there isn't a single one in any of my WoW directories or subfolders.

(For those that must know, I'm using a PC with Vista (yes, I suck. I know). WoW is currently in its default folders.)

Thanks for the help beforehand, everyone.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:05 am
Posts: 18
Location: Arathor (US)
Ooh, ooh, I know this one!

Vista's default security settings steamroll WoW's attempt to take a screenshot. WoW thinks the shot is taken, Vista refuses to write it to the hard drive.

Run As Administrator or Privileged or Uberuberl33t or whatever the option is on the right-click menu for the WoW icon. I gave up on Vista after a couple months.

_________________
Purveyor of leaves, fish, natural remedies and Gyro-Balanced Khorium Destroyers.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:34 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Santiago, Chile
alt-z will remove your interface if needed

Print Screen works for me, and the screens are saved on the Screenshots folder inside my WoW folder

I use Vista 64 (because only manly men can get that stuff to run well :P )

_________________
ImageImage
Image


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:06 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Nashville,TN
If you go to the World of Warcraft folder, there should be a Screenshots folder inside of it where they all are stored.

I make a shortcut to it on my desktop for faster access.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Cenarion Circle
Thanks one and all for the tips. I'll try them just as soon as I get home. Also, there's no screenshots folder anywhere inside my WoW directory. I've looked for it time and time again. Either I'm afflicted with blindness or it doesn't exist. Do I need to create one or will one magically appear when I first attempt the "Run As Leetsauce" from right-clicking the WoW Icon and then doing the Print Screen function?


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:34 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Santiago, Chile
it will appear by itself...

i guess i never had this problem because WoW is on a different partion than windows (WoW's install is highly portable, sp if i need to format or something i should be able to keep my wow folder)

_________________
ImageImage
Image


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Cenarion Circle
/sigh

Ok, I'm on it right now and still no luck. Even after right-clicking the "I own you, Vista!" button. Any other guesses from you highly technical people?


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:07 pm
Posts: 361
Server: Scarlet Crusade (US)
Be sure to check your keybindings and make sure that taking screenshots isn't bound to another key (I use the ~ key). In fact, if it IS bound to PrintScrn still, go ahead and bind it somewhere else to make sure there's not a hardware problem.

_________________
Image
Healing with a positive carbon footprint.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Cenarion Circle
I actually tried the keybindings but couldn't locate the function to actually take a screenshot. Going back in for a further look. Thanks.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Cenarion Circle
Ok, found it and changed it to the ` key as well and still nothing. I'm pretty convinced the choice of taking screenshots is simply not in my cards at this point. I appreciate everyone's help so far and will go cry at the nearest Apple store and ponder blowing large amounts of cash on something I probably don't really need.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:07 pm
Posts: 361
Server: Scarlet Crusade (US)
There is one more thing you might try, and I'm sure someone here is going to ream me out for even suggesting it, but I've done it and haven't had any issues.

Disable User Account Control

UAC is a really annoying security "feature" included with Vista that was preventing WoW from saving changes I'd made to my UI settings. Here's a tutorial on how to do this: http://www.petri.co.il/disable_uac_in_windows_vista.htm USE METHOD #4 which uses the CONTROL PANEL; do not muck around with your registry unless you know for sure what you're doing!

Try it and see if it fixes your problem. If it doesn't, turn it back on.

_________________
Image
Healing with a positive carbon footprint.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Cenarion Circle
Phaelia? You can now rest easy. You've taken the most honored spot as my "New Best Friend." Your recommendation worked like a champ and seeing that "Screen Captured" message made my day. (Though don't gloat too much. I tend to have a "New Best Friend" every 5 minutes or so.)

Thanks one and all for your help and ideas. Now my blog can actually start having pictures. Woot!


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:07 pm
Posts: 361
Server: Scarlet Crusade (US)
HOORAY!! I will enjoy being your best friend for the next five minutes. :D

_________________
Image
Healing with a positive carbon footprint.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:13 am
Posts: 56
Location: Rexxar(WoW)/Thurn(Shadowbane)
I remember from testing Vista with WoW that there is a seperate folder for your screenshots and logs. I did a search for WoWscreen*.jpg and made a desktop link to the location where they were being stored.

_________________
Rexxar (WoW) - BELF Pally and Mage
Thurin (Shadowbane) - Vampire Scout(main)
Image Sig by Bansidhe.


Top
 WWW Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
mergenine: WoW Alliance BB3
World of Warcraft ® ©2004-2007 Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. All rights reserved.