Blog Azeroth

A forum for World of Warcraft Bloggers
It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:30 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Self hosted vs. .com... help!
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 7:17 pm 

*recites to herself "we all have to start somewhere... we all have to start somewhere"*

Ok so I am wondering if you all can give any advice, or help me find some guides on this topic. Should I switch from .com to self hosted?

Here are my dillemas with my current blog on wp.com:

My blog was created sort of on a whim, and I now have discovered that my name is probably kinda lame... so I'm thinking about starting fresh, maybe linking from my wp.com blog to the new one in a post or something. (side note: does anyone have an idea for a better name?)

I hate that I can't use javascript, I am a novice when it comes to HTML or Java, but I know how to copy and paste a script and I'd like to be able to use more widgets like a questions submission form or entrecard, and I can't because Wp.com doesn't allow java.

Any opinions on anything I've said are welcome, even if it's "ya your name sucks" lol. I'd also very much appreciate any guidance on what to do to start a selfhosted wp blog as I am currently a novice and I'm not really even sure where to start.

WWW Profile Send private message  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 8:51 pm 

Server: Eredar (US)
When you say your name, are you talking about "Dezdemone" or "Will Tank for Healz"? Personally, I like the title for your blog. The URL does not necessarily have to reflect the title (but as I can tell, it does tell me that it's your character's name, which is also fine). I've seen people change the title of their blogs and keep the same URL.